Archive for September 22, 2013

Company Review: Foods Alive – Organic Raw Living Food Products Part 2

Foods Alive – Life Giving and Mineral-Rich Artisan Crafted Organic Raw Living Foods Part 2 In business since 2002

I am choosing to quote info from the company and their website, as they explain about the products very well and I wanted to make sure I give them credit for it. I am simply giving my reviews of the products based on tasting and using them to create delicious recipes which you can watch me make on my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/TheRawsomeVeganGal

From Foods Alive website: http://www.foodsalive.com/?Click=827
We source the highest quality and best tasting super foods from across the globe to bring you and your family the most mineral rich and nutrient dense foods available. Super Foods are a great source of Anti-oxidants, Amino Acids (proteins), Dietary Fiber and many other hard to find essential vitamins and minerals that are necessary for maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

Hemp Products
Toasted Hemp Seeds

From Foods Alive website: Did you know that Thomas Jefferson wrote a draft of the United States Declaration of Independence on hemp paper?! Our toasted whole hemp seeds are lightly seasoned with sea salt to make a delicious, nutritious snack or food ingredient. To read more: http://www.foodsalive.com/Toasted-Hemp-Seeds-w-salt-Organic-14-oz-p/0036.htm?Click=827

My review: I am not a fan of using salt, as a rule, as you may have read a previous post I had on this topic, regardless, this product is not very salty. It has a nice crunchy taste. They are “whole” hemp seeds, as opposed to the raw “hulled” seeds (the shells are removed) that this company also sells. They are really yummy and it is hard to stop eating them. If you like salty snacks, order more then one bag, especially if you a family. This is a great healthy savory snack to eat right out of the bag or add to salads, trail mix, soups, etc.

Hemp Protein Powder

From Foods Alive site: Hemp seeds are one of nature’s best sources for plant-based protein. Containing all of the essential amino acids the body needs, our hemp protein powder is a perfect boost to your morning. Try adding hemp protein powder to your smoothies, shakes and yogurt, or use hemp protein to replace up to 25% of the flour in a baked good. To read more: http://www.foodsalive.com/Hemp-Protein-Powder-Organic-50-protein-8-oz-p/0035.htm?Click=827

My review: The hemp protein powder is made from milling and sifting the hemp seed cake, which is a by-product of pressing hemp seeds into hemp oil. Hemp is a great source for plant-based protein and is also low in fat and high in EFA’s. You can make shakes and smoothies with it and use for baking. I experimented with it to make savory protein-rich truffles and also a cheesy spread to put on crackers, tortillas or vegetables (I will have a video up soon on my YouTube channel with recipes).

Chia Protein Powder

From Foods Alive site: Chia Protein is crafted by carefully separating the oils from the seeds. This creates a wonderful high protein and high fiber product that can be added to a variety of different foods. Chia Protein is a very nutritious addition to protein shakes, smoothies, cereals, porridge, yogurts and more. It can also be used as a partial substitute for flour. Chia Protein is loaded with an abundance of nutients such as calcium, protein, anti-oxidants and dietary fiber and also contains all the essential Amino Acids to provide a nutritional punch! To read more: http://www.foodsalive.com/Chia-Protein-Powder-Organic-8-oz-p/0043.htm?Click=827

My review: Chia is a power-packed superfood. The powder can be used as a thickener for baking – egg replacer. You can also sprinkle it on food – salad, grains, casseroles, etc for a protein and mineral boost to your meal. I also use it to make dressings, sauces and gravies. It is low in fat and can help the body retain electrolytes because of its ability to absorb up to 12 times it weight in water.

Black Sesame Protein Powder

From Foods Alive site: Black Sesame Protein is loaded with an abundance of nutrients such as calcium, protein, anti-oxidants and dietary fiber- making it a nutritional powerhouse! Black Sesame Protein is crafted by carefully separating the oils from the seeds. This creates a wonderful high protein and high fiber product that can be added to a variety of different foods. Black Sesame Protein is a very nutritious addition to protein shakes, smoothies, cereals, porridge, yogurts and more. It can also be used as a partial substitute for flour. For more info: http://www.foodsalive.com/Black-Sesame-Protein-Powder-Organic-8-oz-p/0059.htm?Click=827

My review: I really like the “gritty/fluffy” nature of this product. I use it to make truffles and in a creamy sweet or savory sauce/dressing/spread. In baking it is great to add some texture. It is high in protein, low in fat and has healing properties for the kidney and liver meridians. This and all the other powders are great for shakes, smoothies, baking, etc.

Nutritional Yeast

From Foods Alive site: Nutritional yeast is an excellent source of protein, dietary fiber, vitamins (especially the B-complex vitamins including B12), and minerals. Yellow in color and with a nutty cheesy flavor, nutritional yeast is an inactive yeast that is a favorite amongst many vegans because of its unique flavor and similarity to cheese when added to foods. To read more: http://www.foodsalive.com/Nutritional-Yeast-6-oz-p/0047.htm?Click=827

My review: Some vegans may be “on the fence” about using this product, as it is made by culturing the yeast with sugarcane and beet molasses. The other side of it, is the fact that it is a great source of B-complex vitamins, including B12 and is a complete protein, as well. I have gone back and forth myself with using and not using this product. I prefer to buy a product from a company that I know is sourced to be non-GMO. Many health food stores sell it in their bulk bins and I have bought it there, in the past, but I am not so sure of the quality. I like to sprinkle it on my salads, grains and also use to make a “cheesy” spread/sauce/dressing (I will have an upcoming video with recipes using all the products).

This company offers so many great raw organic super foods to nourish and help you to achieve vibrant health. If you have not tried any as yet, now you have more information to do so. You can check out their website: http://www.foodsalive.com/?Click=827 to purchase direct or find which stores carry their products.

Disclaimer: I was not sponsored to write this, but I did receive a sample of the product(s). These are strictly my opinions. I only review products that I, myself would use and purchase.

Leave a comment »