Q and A Series: People, Products and the Health of Our Planet – Interview with Willow King CEO Ozuké: Fine Pickles, Sauerkraut and Kimchi

For the tenth interview, I have the pleasure of introducing you to Willow King CEO of Ozuké: Fine Pickles, Sauerkraut and Kimchi.

My comment: I found this company when I read about a new product that was being carried at the OB People’s Co-op in San Diego, Ca. I liked what I read, so I decided to look up the company online and read more about the products they make. I then sent a email and Willow was gracious enough to send me a few of the products, including a couple of the sauerkruats, kimchi and pickled vegetables. You will have to go to my youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/TheRawsomeVeganGal for my review of their products. Just to let you know, they are so good and the unique flavor profiles make them pleasing to the palate.

Question #1: Tell me briefly about yourself and why you decided to get involved in the “health” industry?

I have always loved nutrition and health and when I got into fermentation it seemed like a wonderful thing to share with the world at large.

Question #2: If you were stranded on a desert island and were allowed to take only 5 items with you (they can be food, books or specific products that are all health-related), what would they be and why?

Wow, that is tough. Some poetry- maybe Neruda or TS Eliot, Sunglasses, water, a machete (in hopes that I could find coconuts, mangos and avocados) and some kim chi.

Question #3: What one message do you want to share with the people of this world that is crucial for their ultimate well being and longevity?
So much of vibrant health comes from within. Of course it is important to eat life giving food, drink lots of water and get good exercise but I have met many amazing soul that radiate health just by letting their hearts shine and by being willing to be open and vulnerable to the world.

Questions #4: If someone could afford to purchase only one product at this moment to start their journey towards better health (food or health-related), what would you recommend and why?

I know I am partial, but I think fermented foods and drinks are huge addition to any diet. They balance ph, boost immunity, help regulate hormones, sleep, moods and they taste great!

Question #5: Tell me more about your business/company and/or products you offer to the public to help them achieve optimal health and well-being?

We make 7 flavors of live, raw, vegan, organic kraut and kim chi. These products are easy to add to salads, sandwiches, rice dishes, noodles, dumplings, soups, burritos- you name it. We are sold in the Rocky Mountain region, Northern and Southern California and the Midwest.

Question #6: What are your hopes/aspirations/dreams for the future health of the people and the planet?

It is my hope that we learn to enjoy foods that are better for the planet. Eating more plants and grains and allowing the balance to return to ecosystems that have been de-forested, over grazed or otherwise overused. I just finished reading “Diet for a Hot Planet” very intense and inspiring. Simple, clean, food- less packaging, less damage done.

Question #7: Who is your greatest hero and why?

I have to choose one? My Grandmother who has done yoga for 50 years is a heroine of mine. She was eating healthy, stretching, doing breath exercises and practicing the power of positive thinking before it was cool. She is 96 and such a bright light in my life.

Ozuké - Fine Pickles, Sauekraut and Kimchi

Ozuké – Fine Pickles, Sauekraut and Kimchi

Also check out my youtube channel for a video review of all these products that I do a tasting of: http://www.youtube.com/TheRawsomeVeganGal

To find out more about all the great products from Ozuké, go to: http://www.ozuke.com

1 Response so far »


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

