Company Review: Farmhouse Culture – Fine Fermented Foods

Farmhouse Culture Raw, Organic and Fresh refrigerated fermented Krauts and Kimchis in business since 2009

Tagline from their website: “We make the best darn kraut on the planet by infusing regional organic ingredients with wildly imaginative flavor profile.”

At the Natural Product Expo in Anaheim, CA I always find great new products to share with my readers and this company is definitely one of them. There are so many things to see and there is not enough time to see it all. I am glad I found this one. I love sauerkraut/fermented foods because it is yummy and also is great for your “gut” health. Our intestinal flora needs to be continually renewed and cultured food is a way to do it right! I would rather eat food then take a pill. It also helps if you are dealing with any issues of gluten/celiac (which we probably all have, even if we do not get tested) because it has to do with inflammation in the colon and high quality fermented foods help a lot!

When I tasted the krauts from Farmhouse Culture, I wanted more. They are so good and the flavors are so unique. Even more then that, is their packaging. It is not in a jar, as with most companies, they actually use a pouch that does not leach harmful chemicals (no BPA’s, PVC plasticizers or phthalates). It is commonly used in Europe and this company is the first to use it. What makes it special is the patented Ferment-O-Vent which releases the buildup of pressure without harmful bacteria entering and allows the healthful micro-organisms room to grow. Also, the pouch gas a lower carbon footprint and takes less energy to produce and transport then glass.

My Review

Overall impression: Love the colorful packaging/stand-up pouches with the peek-a-boo windows to see what is inside. All the products are great! It depends on your taste buds and how much “heat” you can handle whether you would try/like the spicier krauts and kimchi. I live the unique flavors/ingredients used as it perks up/excites your palate!

Krauts

1- Garlic Dill Pickle

This is my all time favorite! #1 for me! It reminds me of Gus Pickles, a company on the Lower East Side of NY where I used to go as a child with my Dad and siblings to get fresh pickles out of the barrels. This is better because it is organic, too. It is so good, I could eat the whole bag. I also love dill and the flavor is great! This is another really good one if you do not want a spicy kraut.

2- Ginger Beet

This is my 2nd favorite! I love the color of this product. It is also high in Vitamin C. Be careful because it may stain you since it has the red color from the beets. Since it is fermented, it actually smells like cooked beets. It also has ginger, which is warming to the body and has medicinal benefits. This flavor is very good and it not too strong for me to handle like the chili and jalepeño in the other products.

3- Classic Caraway

This is my 3rd favorite! This is really good with only a few ingredients. It is simply delicious. For those of you who do not want a spicy sauerkraut, this is a great option. They carry it in a larger pouch, 22 oz size, as it is probably one of the most popular and perhaps was their first product sold.

4- Horseradish Leek

This is my 4th favorite! High in Vitamin C and A. I am familiar with horseradish, as I eat it on Passover, called “marror” or bitter herbs. I like this flavor and it does not taste bitter to me. It has a slight “bite” and not overly strong where I can not eat it.

5- Smoked Jalapeño

This is my 5th favorite! High in Vitamin C. It has daikon radish which is a very good food for the body. It is known to “cut the fat” when eating fatty/oily animal foods – you would grate it finely and eat with your meal. It is also used medicinally – the greens are dried for a hip bath for feminine issues, the radish is also sun-dried and used in cooking. This flavor was spicy for me – hot! It is tasty and flavorful and has a nice crunch. After a short while I got used to it and wasn’t too hot for me.

Kimchi

Spicy Wakame Ginger

This is my 6th favorite! it is high in Vitamin C. It has wakame seaweed which is used in Japanese culture, mostly in miso soup and helps get rid of heavy metal toxicity in the body and high in minerals. It also has ginger which is warming and medicinal to the body. This one was Very Hot for me! The chili powder is more powerful in the heat index then is jalepeño, in my opinion. It is super intense and still is good. The way I can handle it, is by eating a little hit at a time.

Farmhouse Culture - Fine Fermented Foods

Farmhouse Culture – Fine Fermented Foods

Farmhouse Culture - Raw, Organic  Krauts and Kimchi

Farmhouse Culture – Raw, Organic Krauts and Kimchi

To check out more about this great company, their awesome products and where to buy them, go to: http://www.farmhouseculture.com

Also check out my youtube channel for a video review of all these products that I do a tasting of: http://www.youtube.com/TheRawsomeVeganGal

Disclaimer: I was not sponsored to write this, but I did receive a sample of the product(s). These are strictly my opinions. I only review products that I, myself would use and purchase.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    turtlenewz said,

    I do not trust the pouches , since it is unknown what plastics are used? It would of been the perfect product in glass jars

    • 2

      rawsomegal said,

      Thanks for your comment. I appreciate your lack of trust and since you have your doubts, I suggest you contact the company yourself so they can alleviate your concerns of what the pouch is made of. They have very high integrity and are concerned about sustainability and eco-impact and therefore choose to use the pouch and it is BPA free and phthalate free.

      G-d Bless!
      Mindy aka The Rawsome Vegan Gal 😎


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

