Company Review: Raw O.N.E. Food – Raw, Organic Savory and Sweet Snacks

Raw O.N.E.(Organic/Nutritious/Enriching)Food company began in 2009

When I go shopping (such as to Whole Foods, in this case), I usually look around for new products that I could perhaps review. That is how I found this one. Of course, I do my research first and after looking at the product in the store, I spend some time on the website looking through the products and what the purpose is for what the company is doing. I have very high standards as to what I am willing to review and share with my readers. If there happens to be something that I feel does not go along with my principles then I will not even give it a second thought. I have even removed previous reviews I have done for companies because they had added new products with ingredients that are highly toxic to the body. I do not want to no will I ever be willing to give in for any price, even though I get samples of the products and the people are very nice.
I am happy πŸ™‚ to say that Raw O.N.E. Food is a great company and have high integrity and purity in their products and personal character.

My email to Dion Taylor, co-owner of Raw O.N.E. Food:

Thanks for the package. I appreciate your generosity in sending me all the products. The packaging itself is exquisite, informative and educational (also love the additional inspirational words inside the flaps of the flax cracker boxes and on the underside of the granola bags (I have not opened the biscotti, to see if there, as well). Since you sent me everything, I will still sample the sweet products, even though I am not fond of honey. As I mentioned previously, would you consider switching to date syrup or coconut nectar for the sweetener and then the products can all be vegan, too!

Response from Dion:

Thank you Mindy for offering to review the line, I do remember that you are vegan but we wanted to feature the entire line, even though you may not review the ones that contain honey, we’d like the general public to know the complete line. Sandesha, my wife, Founder and our Head of Product Development and Production…might want to chime in on her thoughts about alternative sweeteners….so I’ll punt to her for that.

We look forward to your review and appreciate your kind words on the packaging. We set out to both nourish, educate and inspire as we see this as our responsibility to those who, in some small way, trust their wellbeing to us…Conscious Capitalism is what we strive for Purpose driven over Profit driven.

My review of the products

General information: I LOVE the packaging as it has eye appeal (I love colors) and great nutritional information that educates/informs you about the products. It also has words of inspiration on the underside of the granola bags, the inside flap of the flax crackers and biscotti. What a pleasant way to start the day and make you feel happy and inspired. You can use the affirmation/saying as part of your meditation or say it when you need a spiritual “pick me up.” Who would think that the package of the product could nourish you and this company has figured out a great way to do so. Sometimes we may go to eat a snack because we are feeling down, depressed, bored and here you can feel great, perhaps even without eating/overeating anything and simply open up the package and read the words. Of course, you would want to try this products as they are delicious and the best ingredient in there (written on the packaging) is “Lots of Love.” All the products are certified organic, non GMO, gluten free, raw and kosher (Kosher Certification for Kosher, Natural and Organic Products – See more at: http://kosherorganics.com/ Bringing highlighted public awareness of Kosher Dietary Laws and Earth-Friendly Natural and Organic Foods and Products to everyone). It would be great to start seeing products like these (while I call them snacks they are really whole food products with all the goodness of fruits, nuts, seeds, herbs and lots of love) in mainstream places like 7-Eleven, Starbucks, Walmart and get rid of the rest of the junk that is just making people sick, fat and tired. I hope it will happen in my lifetime – it would be time to celebrate and see people wake up to realize their health matters!

I will also share with you my RVG(Rawsome Vegan Gal)Rating for all the products I tasted and reviewed here.

Flax Crackers

There are 4 different varieties that I will review individually. Overall, I enjoyed the different flavors of these flax crackers (made with golden flax seeds that are high in omega essential fatty acids). They are nice and crunchy with the right thickness. They are also vegan and the packaging is colorful and educational, as mentioned above. They are all great, but I rate them according to what I prefer according to my tastes. I am including photos of each product for you to see. The products are beautiful to look at, like art! You can click on each picture to view it in its full size and see the details.

Rosemary-Sundried Tomato
This is #1 favorite flax cracker for me! I love sundried tomatoes and the dried herbs used, namely, rosemary and parsley. It has a mild flavor and not very spicy, as I like it that way.

Flax Cracker Rosemary- Sundried Tomato

Flax Cracker
Rosemary- Sundried Tomato

Rawritos
This is the #2 favorite flax cracker for me. This one has a lot of different yummy ingredients mixed together from tomato, bell pepper, onion and garlic powder, etc. It also has a slight peppery flavor from the cayenne and black pepper, but is not too strong for me.

Flax Crackers  Rawritos

Flax Crackers
Rawritos

Tumeric-Nori
This is #3 favorite flax cracker for me. It has a mild flavor initially and then as I chew it, I get the added “Kick” from the cumin and cayenne powder. It is rich in antioxidants from the tumeric and nori.

Flax Crackers Tumeric-Nori

Flax Crackers
Tumeric-Nori

Garlic With A Kick
This is #4 favorite flax cracker for me. At first bite it did not taste very strong, then with the second bite I felt the “heat” from the chili flakes. I was able to handle it (I did not grow up eating spicy foods, so I personally stay away from “hot” foods) because I was not eating the chili by itself, since it was part of a cracker and listed as the last ingredient on the package, so there is much less of it in there.

Flax Crackers Garlic with A Little Kick

Flax Crackers
Garlic with A Little Kick

Granola

There are two varieties of this product and when you open it, it is more like a granola bar then granola you would put in the bowl, as cereal. You could crumble it up and add vegan milk (such as from sesame, hemp, almond, etc that you can easily make yourself), if you would like it that way. It is nice that you can actually see the “whole food” in the product and identify it. There is raw honey in these products, but it only has a mild sweetness. I abstain from honey, as a rule and would prefer if there was a vegan sweetener used, such as, date syrup or coconut nectar. After looking over the ingredients on the package, I wonder if honey is even needed, as there are so many different delicious fruits and berries in the granola that would probably make it sweet enough. It might be something for the company to consider and make a “test” batch to see how it’ll taste (and the same would apply to the Biscotti that I will review below).

Goji-Mixed Berry
This is #1 favorite for me of the granola. I can taste the goji berry (chock full of antioxidants) – yum! and it is has a nice crunch with all different types of berries, including strawberries, blueberries and cranberries. It is a very good combination of ingredients and has a mildly sweet flavor.

Granola Goji-Mixed Berry

Granola
Goji-Mixed Berry

Banana-Walnut Cacao Nibs
This is #2 for me. I do not usually eat bananas because they don’t agree with me. This is different because it is dried and chips. The flavor is nice and mildly sweet. Also has a well thought out mixture of ingredients. The cacao gives the added benefit of antioxidants.

Granola Banana-Walnut Cacao Nibs

Granola
Banana-Walnut Cacao Nibs

Biscotti

I do not know if I ever tasted biscotti before or if it is traditionally made by baking it. These are so yummy! There are moist and chewy, to me, more like a soft cookie with great flavor, texture and eye appeal. They are also rich in antioxidants like cacao, goji berries and cherries. They are more like a work of art to be displayed in a museum (or maybe a food museum and when you get hungry you eat the art and feel good about it (ha! ha! and it would be delicious “real” food and not the junk that is sold in the convenience stores).

Goji-Cherry Pistachio

This is the #1 favorite of the biscotti for me. I love the mixture of goji with cherry and the whole pieces visible in it. I would display it on a plate with some goji berries, cherries, almonds and pistachios. These were so good (even though they have raw honey, but a very low glycemic load) that I could eat the whole box in one sitting (of course, I would not do that because I want it to last a while).

Biscotti Goji-Cherry Pistachio

Biscotti
Goji-Cherry Pistachio

Cacao-Incan Berry-Hazelnut

This is #2 favorite of the biscotti for me. It is decadent and yummy. I do not usually eat cacao, so it a real special treat for me. When I opened the package up I could smell the cacao. Again, a great combination of ingredients and flavors (probably took a while of taste testing to get it right and I wish I could have been there to do the sampling) πŸ˜‰

Biscotti Cacao-Incan Berry-Hazelnut

Biscotti
Cacao-Incan Berry-Hazelnut

Overall, I am a bigger fan of the savory snacks. The sweet ones were very good, but I would like to see them without the raw honey as they already have a lot of sweetness from the other fruits in them.

To check out this great company and learn more about their products and purpose, go to: http://www.rawonefood.com

I also did a video review on my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/TheRawsomeVeganGal
Subscribe to my youtube channel if you have a Gmail, Google+, Picasa, YouTube, Orkut or Google Chrome account and then you can also leave a comment and like my videos, with a “Thumbs Up!”

Disclaimer: I was not sponsored to write this review, but I did receive a sample of the product(s). These are strictly my opinions. I only review products that I, myself would use and purchase.

Leave a Reply

