Company Review: Food On Purpose – Organic Raw Vegan Snacks Part 2

Food On Purpose – Organic Raw Vegan Snacks Part 2 in business since 2007 Their motto is: “Intentional Choices, Powerful Foods”

To read part one of my review of these company’s savory raw snacks click on this link:
https://rawsomegal.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/company-review-food-on-purpose-organic-raw-vegan-snacks-and-treats-part-1/

I am reviewing the sweet raw snacks from this company. I am not a “fan” of using agave nectar, as it is equated to HFCS – high fructose corn syrup and is not recommended. I did sample these products, anyway, as GK was kind enough to send them to me for review.

I would say a better option is date syrup or coconut nectar, if a thick liquid syrup is necessary. I actually prefer using the green stevia leaf or powder as it is not sugar and merely a sweet leaf discovered in South America and it is antibacterial, helps regulate blood sugar, etc. To read more about this amazing sweet leaf, read the book, “The Miracle of Stevia,” by James A. May.

I emailed GK about the use of agave sweetener and received this response from him. In an email from GK (National Sales Manager), he says: “We do use agave in our Roonies. They are tasty (especially Choco Roonies) but we are looking at other sweeteners.”

Here is a review of the products: They are all dehydrated, dairy free, gluten free, certified organic and raw.

Granola In The Raw
This is a really nice granola and uses sprouted buckwheat, nuts and seeds. It is tasty and mildly sweet (even though it uses agave, but to me did not seem like a lot of it). The ingredients do not stick today, as in other raw granolas that use dates, but remain separated. I tasted it right out of the bag as a snack and also used it with some coconut water, as a cereal (or you can make a seed or nut milk yourself that is vegan, as I don’t recommend any dairy consumption).

Roonies (as in Macaroons) – 3 varieties
Overall, these are moist and chewy with each one having a different flavor, depending on the ingredients used. One thing I found unnecessary was the use of coconut oil as they are actually soaking in the oil at the bottom of the package (I did not find that “oil pool” in the Choco Roonies) I took them out and used a couple of paper towels to absorb the oil. The would still be delicious without the oil and with another sweetener (as I mentioned above).

Sunny Roonies
These macaroons use mostly coconut and lemon. I like the lemony flavor. It is sweeter then the cereal, as more agave is used and it is the first ingredient listed.

Ginger Roonies
These macaroons have ginger and maca powder. The taste is not strong or overly sweet as the previous one I mentioned. The ginger taste kicks in later and is not overpowering.

Choco Roonies
These macaroons use Peruvian organic cacao, maca powder and vanilla flavor. These has a sweet flavor, but are not overly sweet. I may try and make them myself and use carob instead of cacao or a mix of both of them for a different flavor.

Birds In The Nest
First, I like the name, it is very unique and clever. This is made mostly with cashews and has a raspberry jam scoop in the center of it. I love the color contrast between the macaroon and the fruit. Perhaps other berries can be used such as strawberries, goji berries, blackberries, yellow raspberries, etc (I am salivating, just things about the possibilities, as I am always creating recipes in my head, as I am a chef). This product is flakier, dry and mildly sweet.

To find out more about these products and the company, go to http://www.foodonpurpose.com
I also have a link on the right hand column of this page under the title Blogroll.

Check out my youtube channel http://www.youtube.com/TheRawsomeVeganGal for a video review of these products and for many more product reviews, healthy living topics and recipe ideas.

Disclaimer: I was not sponsored to write this, but I did receive a sample of the product(s). These are strictly my opinions. I only review products that I, myself would use and purchase.

Leave a Reply

