Company Review: Awesome Foods – Raw, Vegan, Gluten Free Snacks and Meals

Awesome Foods – “right carb,” raw, vegan, gluten-free snacks and meals In business since 2005

I found out about this company when I visited Hippocrates Health Institute in Palm Beach, Florida. They have a store (though small, it has everything you need to follow the Hippocrates program) and carry everything from books, snacks, juicers, body care, supplements, etc. I noticed some raw snack from a company called Awesome Foods and took down their contact information. I always do my research first and in this day and age, everyone has a website. I liked what I saw and decided to contact them. I heard back from the owner, Bruce right away and he was kind enough to send me an assortment of their savory snacks that I requested.

Here is some info about this company from their site:

Awesome Foods is a small family owned business started by a husband and wife team in 2005. Bruce and Marsha wanted to create delicious, high quality, raw, “right carb” foods for people in search of raw meals and snacks. At the time, they found that most of the packaged raw foods on the market had high levels of starch and sugar. Since they both have hypoglycemia (low blood sugar), they have to avoid foods that are high in sugar and starch. Many of the raw foods available today are made with large amounts of dates, raisins, agave nectar or honey, which are high in sugar or with buckwheat, which is high in starch. All of these ingredients are high on the glycemic index. Their vision is to offer raw foods with complex (right) carbohydrates that are lower on the glycemic index and that taste awesome! They dehydrate their snacks below 118 degrees in order to maintain the enzymes, vitamins and minerals and they use organic ingredients as much as possible. They start with awesome ingredients to produce awesome tasting products, which is why they are called Awesome Foods! Come taste the difference!

I also want to say, that after checking out their website, I was very impressed with their environmental consciousness. I have tried products from many other companies and none of them told me on their site that they compost, use air and water filters, recycle and many other things that you can read about on the site – click on the About link for more information.

I only wish they were located closer to me, so I could try out their meals and other prepared products (soups, dips, dressings, etc) too!(if you do not live near them in Pennsylvania, then it would have to be shipped in an insulated cold package). If the products are not sold in a store in you city or state, then please let the health foods store(s) know that you would like to see their products available for you to purchase. Of course, you can also buy their products directly.

Products I reviewed:

Raw Poppadoms
These are made of sprouted lentils with a combination of various herbs. It has a light and “airy” flavor. It “melts” in my mouth when I taste it! YUM!

Pizza Zucchini Chips
These are round chips that are very crunchy and taste like little pizzas. Very flavorful and delicious!

Pistachio Sticks
I absolutely love these. Have the perfect blend of flavors with the ingredients used. I could eat the whole bag (in a couple of minutes)!

Carrot Chips
These have a light and mild flavor. They are not too sweet, have the right consistency and a nice crunch, too!

Flax Crackers
These crackers are made with soaked golden flax seeds. Red bell pepper, tomato, garlic and onion are added for flavor. I like the way it tastes. They are thicker then other crackers I have tasted and I personally like thinner ones.

Vegetable Tempuraw
This is an absolute winner! The perfect flavor! The Crunch! Fantastic! The following vegetables are used in these snack: daikon, onion, red bell pepper, yam, snow peas and zucchini. This is the raw “take” on tempura, which is deep-fried vegetables. I have had the cooked version many years ago and to me, this tastes so much better. My favorite vegetables in here were the yam and red bell pepper. I wanted to keep eating and eating this till I finished the bag. Addictive, in a healthy way!

My RVG Rating
Here is how I rate these products, in order of what I liked the most. I first have to say that all the snacks I tried were great and some stood out more for me then others. Whatever products you buy will still be much better then what you get at the convenience stores and supermarket. You may think they are a bit “pricey,” and it all depends on what is important in your life! To me, my health is numero uno and I am happy to have options like these to have some snacks and know that I am doing my body good!

#1 – Vegetable Tempuraw – I opened up the package and tasted these vegetable and wanted to eat it all at once. It is so full of flavor and delicious!
#2 – Pistachio Sticks – perfect flavor and wanted to keep eating them. YUM!
#3 – Raw Poppadoms – these are very flavorful and melt in my mouth.
#4 – Pizza Zucchini Chips – loved the pizza flavor. Perfect blend of herbs.
#5 – Carrot Chips – mildly sweet flavor and nice crunch.
#6 – Flax Crackers – good flavor and they are thicker then others I have tasted. I prefer them thinner.

Also check out my youtube channel for the video review: http://www.youtube.com/TheRawsomeVeganGal

I said in the email to Bruce: Hashem/G-d said in the Torah/Old Testament/Bible the proper way to eat and I follow and heed His commandments along with eating food that is whole and plant-based (being a vegan for 23 years)

As quoted from my email and written by Bruce, the owner of the company: Yes, we are from the same tribe. I like the way you are combining the spiritual aspects of life with healthy eating.

To read more about this great company and all the products they sell, go to: http://www.awesomefoods.com

Disclaimer: I was not sponsored to write this, but I did receive a sample of the product(s). These are strictly my opinions. I only review products that I, myself would use and purchase.

Leave a Reply

