My Experiences/Experiment Dry Fasting 4 and 3/4 Days: Not for the Faint at Heart

Dislaimer: The information you read below represents my views only. I am not suggesting that you try and do this on your own. It is merely intended to share with you my experiences. It is not intended as a diagnosis, cure or treatment for any disease or ailment. If you are interested in doing a program like this, please make sure you educate yourself adequately and seek advise from a qualified holistic or medical professional. Neither I, nor anyone (person, company, product) I mention in this post accept liability or responsibility for any loss, damage, or injury that may allegedly arise from any information or suggestions herein.

Saturday June 1, 2013 @ 8:45pm – Beginning of Fast

Tonight I decided to start my fast. Since the Sabbath starts on Friday night, I would only do it for 6 days in total. It is forbidden to fast on that day, because it is a day to be in joy and fasting is done mostly for suffering/mourning. Not to say that it is suggested that one fast all the time. In the Jewish tradition we have fasts a couple times a year that are required and other that are recommended. This type of fasting is DRY FASTING. This means that you neither eat nor drink for a full day.

I, myself have done dry fasting (aside from the religious ones and when I initially started at 12 years of age, it was more difficult, as I did not have the same food habits as I do now) for as long as 3 and 3/4 days prior to now. The first time I read about this was in a book by Tonya Zavasta, “Quantum Eating.” (Click on the picture of Tonya on the right-hand side of this page to go directly to her website). In the book, she mentions that the Russsians use this as a manner of treatment for many different ailments/diseases under medical supervision, of course. One doctors mentions that you can go as long as 14 days without consumption of water/food. After I read this part of the book, I decided to try this for myself for a day and felt wonderful (I have done various types of cleansing programs since 2004 and feel comfortable with trying out things like this on my own and know what to expect, but I don’t suggest this for anyone to do on their own).

After that, whenever I did a cleanse, I would first dry fast for as long as I could do so. I do not find it hard at all because my body has gotten used to it. Tonight I went to sleep and felt fine because I had a meal before going to sleep.

Sunday June 2, 2013 – First full day of Dry Fast

The first day I did have elimination twice and some urination, too. Of course, not as much as when I consume my normal fare. I felt fine today with no problems at all. I do not engage in any activities such as intensive exercise when I do any of my fasts/cleanses. I may still do some activity, but keep it at a minimum to conserve my energy. I went out in the afternoon for a short while to spend some time on nature. I did feel a bit more tired and went to sleep by 10pm.

Monday June 3, 2013 – Second day of Dry Fast

I eliminated once this morning and urinated, too. I still had some urination today, but much less then usual and was a deeper yellow color. I still do not feel the need to drink anything. The weather has also been cooler outside, so that probably helps, as well. I felt ok, for the most part and stayed home all day. I went to bed earlier then usual because I was tired – by approximately 10pm.

Tuesday June 4, 2013 – Third day of Dry Fast

Still had some elimination this morning. Feeling no need for water. I know that I will probably dry fast longer then previously, but I will pay attention to how I feel so I will know if I need to drink or not. So far, I do not feel dry in the mouth or dehydrated. Most people would not do this and again, I don’t recommend it at all! I also have been doing this in the city and not in the mountains with pristine air and no noise/light pollution. I am also not resting exactly the way it would be best for me to have the optimal results – meaning no phones, computers, reading, driving, etc.

For those who would want to do a fasting program the right way, it is best to go to a facility that is specifically designed for this, such as TrueNorth Health Center in California http://www.healthpromoting.com/ Also Dr. Doug Graham (raw vegan 80/10/10 program) has a supervised water fasting program in Costa Rica – check out his website for dates http://www.foodnsport.com

Tonight I went to sleep closer to 11pm, but did not sleep well. I woke up and stayed up for a while. I started to notice a build up of mucus near the tip of my eyes in the inside part close to the tear duct. It was more then I usually see when I wake up in the morning.

Wednesday June 4, 2013 – Fourth day of Dry Fast

I woke up and when I tried to open my eyes, they were “glued” shut from the mucus build up around my eyes. I had to clean it out with water by the sink. Throughout the day, I continued to have more mucus in my eyes. I tried to used my fingers to clean it out, but that wasn’t the optimal way. I irritated my eyes and they were getting red and dry. Instead I used water to flush them. For you to understand more in detail what was happening with my eyes: as I would blink my eyes, after a while I could see there was some cloudiness in them and then it moved down to my lower lids and the mucus would stay there until I removed it. I never had this happen when I have a done a fast/cleanse, in the past. I would usually have mucus leave my body through my nose or throat.

Today I only had urination minimally, but no elimination. I still did not feel thirsty or the need to drink any water. I decided to go out and do some shopping and errands. I was out for a couple of hours and got everything done. I did feel a bit worn out when I came home, so I rested for a while. I went to bed tonight about 11pm. I went to sleep, but woke up again in the middle of the night. My eyes were glued shut again and I had to wash them out. I stayed awake and worked on the computer until my eyes were shutting.

Thursday June 6, 2013 – Fifth day of Dry Fast/Cleanse

When I woke, my eyes were glued shut again from the mucus and were a bit red and irritated. All day I had to wash them out because the build up was constant. I did not have a bowel movement today. I was still urinating some. My tongue had a heavy white coating on it, as well. I felt ok, but decided anyway, that I would end my dry fast at 4 and 3/4 days. Since I’d begin eating some food tomorrow night, I wanted to get some fluids into my body before that time.

I had my first cup of water at 2:45pm and then some Harmless Harvest raw organic coconut water (I have a review of their company on my blog, for a cleanse that I did – search in the archives for it). My head was not used to the fluid and had to adjust to it. I actually felt more tired after drinking because now my body had to start working to digest it, whereas before it was in a different state of existence without having to do much “work.” Digestion is work and takes energy. I drank some more water and also finished the 16oz bottle of the coconut water by the end of the day.

I went to sleep by about 11pm and felt more weary and had less energy then when I consumed nothing at all. It is amazing how the body works and to see for myself how I would feel. Of course, I could probably do it longer, but I would have to take a break for the Sabbath and then start over again for another six days. I may try that at another point or else try to do this once a month to give my body a “true” rest so it can heal properly. The body does not heal when it is “busy” digesting, rather when you are sleeping it can renew and rejuvenate itself.

Friday June 7, 2013 – Sixth/last day of Cleanse

I woke up twice in the night. Once was to wash out my eyes because they were glued shut from the build up of mucus. I got up again at about 5:20am to wash out my eyes again from the build up and to urinate. I went back to sleep and awoke at 9am. I felt more sluggish then yesterday when I awoke (perhaps because I was not used to consuming anything, that even having the water and coconut water took more processing for my body and it had to adjust to it). My neck felt tight and my eyes were glued shut again and I had to wash them out. I did urinate and eliminate a small amount this morning. I noticed that my tongue still had a heavy white coating.

I decided to clean my bathroom thoroughly this morning and it took a toll on my energy, so I lay down on my bed for a while. I drank some coconut water and water at ~11am and then again at 2:30pm. I feel a bit more energetic. I had some slight mucus around my eye today, but nothing like I had yesterday, thank G-d!

I drank again some coconut water at ~ 4pm and then again at 5:20pm. I finished the 16oz bottle and that is all I had for today. I am still feeling a bit sluggish, but not as much as this morning. I did clean my room (dust and wash the floor) to get ready for the Sabbath, as I like it to be clean for this special and Holy Day!

Tonight I will eat for the Sabbath, but have a small amount of blended fruit and chew it well because my stomach has shrunk and I have to get used to food. I plan to take it slowly to equal the amount of days I have not eaten so my body can resume its regular food consumption. If I eat too much, too fast I tend to get a headache, bloating and gas and that is not an optimal way to come off of a fast/cleanse.

You can read about my other fasting/cleansing experiences on this blog. Look in the archives to read about my 42 day coconut water cleanse I started in December 2009.

Here is the link:

https://rawsomegal.wordpress.com/2009/12/30/40-days-2-of-cleansing-and-beyond-a-journal-of-my-personal-daily-experiences/

I also have a post on my coconut water cleanse using a combination of two different coconut water – the first one, raw and organic (Harmless Harvest coconut water) and the second one, pasteurized (O.N.E. coconut water) There are some interesting results I had by using both of them.

Here is the link:

https://rawsomegal.wordpress.com/2012/06/09/company-review-harmless-harvest-raw-never-heated-certified-organic-coconut-water/

14 Responses so far »

  1. 2

    IKUSIKA OLUWASEYI said,

    Dear sir, i’ll need your advice on what to do before i can embark on a seven (7)days dry fasting. i’ve practise both a day and 3days dry fasting and see a dramatic changes in my body systems both physically and spiritually. i would like to know if it’s safer for me to do it in the city or i should go somewhere else. thanks and God bless

  2. 3

    Eduardo said,

    Did you feel better afterall and consider worth the dry fasting?

  3. 4

    rawsomegal said,

    Hi Eduardo,

    Thanks for your question.

    I always feel better when I do a fast/cleanse, as it gives a break from all the work the digestive system has to do and yet, it is not something for everyone.

    I have stopped doing these extended fasts/cleanses for a while now and have instead chosen to do short term daily fasts where I do not consume my first meal till about noon after eating my evening meal, so I give my body a chance to still detox from the day/night before.

    You can also read about the other cleanses/fasts I have done, the links below the post to read more.

    I do not advise people to embark on this on their own because some may have health issues/medical conditions that would cause ill efffects and I am not in any way responsible for anybody and the detox reactions they may have, as said in the disclaimer above.

    In Health,
    Sarah-Hadassah aka The Rawsome Vegan Gal
    check out my youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/TheRawsomeVeganGal

    • 5

      Eduardo said,

      Thank you for the prompt and thoughtful reply.

      I’ve seen posts about these quick fastings, some call it “intermitent fasting”. Its a great tip and somehow I been doing that – not w/ great discipline until now.

      Same for raw, been falling off the wagon bit now I’m taking it seriously.

      I have hypothiroidism or adrenal fatigue I am not sure yet – now that I ended the dry fasting for 2 days I feel double exausted.

      I’m checking the videos. Thank you so much.

      • 6

        Dave said,

        Hey, if you feel confident you got hypothiroidism (I also had “chronic” fatigue), you should check this program I used http://bit.ly/1Rm8oFD where I learned to regulate my thyroid hormones in a natural way (just diets), that helped me a lot.

  4. 7

    dorothy said,

    Hi – I did a 3 day dry fasts for the 1st time some time ago. This was highly beneficial spiritually. I heard the voice if God & had very clear visions and directions from Him.
    I too experienced the glued eyes, ventured out on the 3rd day to go do some banking, but this was a mistake, with the traffic & overcrowded bank, it was too much. I almost fainted & had to sit on the sidewalk, mustering up energy to drive my car.

    I thank God that I did this fast & are preparing for another, but longer. This time in isolation, in prayer & thanksgiving. I prefer to have as little as possible interaction with the world this time around.. GREAT EXPECTATIONS!

    • 8

      rawsomegal said,

      Thanks for your comment Dorothy.
      Glad you had a mostly good experience with dry fasting.
      I do not recommend this for people to do on their own, as I did.
      I hope your extended dry fast goes well and you are welcome to leave another comment with your experiences

      The Rawsome Vegan Gal 😊

  5. 9

    Mr.Will said,

    This information was awesome. I have a few health issues such as high blood pressure ,some tumors underneath my skin that are benign ,along with some circulatory problems and skin tags. I am excited to do this cleanse a little at a time and see what the results are. I know that my body will appreciate it .Thank you so much for sharing and I look forward to reading your blogs and going on to the website.

  6. 10

    Joan said,

    Am 18 years and I live in Abuja. I am a kind of person who likes to believe I have no limits, and can go extreme to prove people wrong to prove my capability. I embarked on a 3 days dry fasting (no water) on 21st DEC after dinner at 7pm. I ate very little that night, with a glass of water. On the 22nd morning I felt very OK, I did my regular chores and had to clean and scrub the floor, tidy the rooms, as everywhere was dusty because we just came back from a journey, but later in the evening around 9pm I began to crave for water, my mom thought my idea was stupid but I held on. I slept around 11:30pm. On the 23rd,today I woke up feeling OK, but there was this tingling sensation in my legs, I laid down for a while and noticed my foot was moving on its own, it subsided after a while at about 8am. I washed my clothes that morning and managed to mop the house, then I rested before going for a stroll with a friend. I hope I can make it till the 25th Christmas morning when I plan to break it. Am a size 4, not fat but I still feel strong enough to continue, although I can feel my bowel movements, like my stomach walls are contracting, I’ve been passing gas all morning, my tongue is very white and has a metallic dry taste, I read its an auto detox phenomenon due to fasting.

    • 11

      Joan said,

      Am 18 years and I live in Abuja. I am a kind of person who likes to believe I have no limits, and can go extreme to prove people wrong to prove my capability. I embarked on a 3 days dry fasting (no water) on 21st DEC after dinner at 7pm. I ate very little that night, with a glass of water. On the 22nd morning I felt very OK, I did my regular chores and had to clean and scrub the floor, tidy the rooms, as everywhere was dusty because we just came back from a journey, but later in the evening around 9pm I began to crave for water, my mom thought my idea was stupid but I held on. I slept around 11:30pm. On the 23rd,today I woke up feeling OK, but there was this tingling sensation in my legs, I laid down for a while and noticed my foot was moving on its own, it subsided after a while at about 8am. I washed my clothes that morning and managed to mop the house, then I rested before going for a stroll with a friend. I hope I can make it till the 25th Christmas morning when I plan to break it. Am a size 4, not fat but I still feel strong enough to continue, although I can feel my bowel movements, like my stomach walls are contracting, I’ve been passing gas all morning, my tongue is very white and has a metallic dry taste, I read its an auto detox phenomenon due to fasting.

      Now it’s 25th DEC. Merry Christmas everyone. I broke my fast this morning, am happy I was able to finish my fast, although it wasn’t easy at all, I almost gave up a hundred times. I did notice series of changes in my body during the 3 days dry fast. My mom literally thought I was going to die, she was so scared, because people would blame her if anything went wrong. It’s normal for parents who care. During the fast, my organs of sensitivity were extreme. I could smell everything even myself, I could remember everything sound and clear, word for word. On the 3rd day, the 24th, I woke up stronger than the first 2 days, I washed the cars, did a lot of chores, and I figured, the less I think about it, the better. I was never hungry throughout, only thirsty. This fast made me realise a whole lot about life, the human body and myself. I broke my fast on Christmas morning with a bottle of water, then later I had fruit juice. I had the first meal at 2pm. It was a wonderful but daunting experience. Am glad I survived and plan to do more in the future. Right now, I feel like man is not supposed to have life barriers. We all could get what we want only when we put in more effort. Just a little push could realise amazing results. At a point when I nearly gave up, I thought to myself, I started it, I must finish it. This gave me a sense of purpose, to fight for goals, just a little more time, just a little more effort. Humanity has suffered great disappointment due to one’s lack of hope, fear for what is not, and failure to realise that all these have been set, just to prepare you. Everything is life is only a matter of time, time changes things. Time allows growth. When you plan to achieve something, try it. Start small, start poor, make mistakes, but JUST START. As long as you have time, it doesn’t matter how you start, its all about how its going now, or how it ended. You can do all things through him who lives in you, all you need is a leap of hope.

  7. 12

    rawsomegal said,

    Hi Joan

    I have a disclaimer in my post about people doing, so if you have any medical issues, I do not recommend doing on your own, as I did. You are very young and thin, so do not need to be doing this “extreme” cleanse. Simply eat healthy (recommend a plant-based program) and have a good attitude of gratitude!

    Wishing you the best of health,

    Sarah-Hadassah aka The Rawsome Vegan Gal 😊
    http://youtube.com/TheRawsomeVeganGal

  8. 13

    SIR, I’v BEEN TRYING TO DO A DRY FAST BUT COULDN’T, BECAUSE MY SYSTEM SEEMS TO TO TOO WEAK TO HOLD ON. SIR WHAT SHOULD I DO?

    • 14

      rawsomegal said,

      First, I am not a sir. I am a female.
      Do not so dry fasting on your own, as I mentioned in the post.
      You must do it with guidance of a professional.
      Thank You


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

