Company Review- Softcup: Feminine Hygiene

Softcup Alternative to pads and tampons – in business over 10 years

I first came across this product at Expo West in Anaheim a couple of years ago. I never knew it existed, but I am sure glad that it does! I have used various types of feminine hygiene products over the years and as I have improved by food habits, I have also changed what I use during my menstual cycle. As a teenager, I used pads and later on started using tampons. Once I learned about organic products, I first started with reusable/washable organic cotton pads. They were good for a while, but then I wasn’t liking them anymore. I tried the Diva Cup and that was very uncomfortable and did not use it at all. When organic pads, tampons and liners came in to play (check my review on Natracare in a previous post), I started using them and still do.

I had gotten samples of Softcup at the Expo, but put them away in my cabinet in the bathroom and forgot about them. A few months ago I decided to try it out. There is definitely an initial learning curve how to insert and how often to take out and wash (12 is maximum time, but on heavy days, better to take out sooner so you don’t have leakage) before you reinsert. I am so glad they are making the reusable ones, as it is much more environmentally friendly. I wish there was a way to reuse it after the cycle or use for something else, like if you want to start planting some herbs outside and start the seeds indoors first you can use it (if you have any other suggestions, please email me a comment).

I decided to use it again this current cycle and it is a cinch! I absolutely Love this product. You don’t even know it is there and you can go to the bathroom without having to take it out. I usually wear a pad, just in case there is some slight leakage, but I make sure to wash it out frequently, especially on the first couple of days which are my heaviest. I always wash it again before going to bed, even if it has not been 12 hours, just to be safe and then I don’t have to worry about the need to get up in the middle of the night. You also save money because you only need one Softcup for the entire cycle. It is so easy and simple. I highly recommend you try it, even if you are tampon-phobic or think it is difficult or uncomfortable – it is not like that at all.

To read more about this company and product, please check out the link under the heading titled Blogroll on the right-hand of this page.

Disclaimer: I was not sponsored to write this, but I did receive a sample of the product(s). These are strictly my opinions. I only review products that I, myself would use and purchase.

Leave a Reply

