Company Review-Toadily Handmade:100% Natural Beeswax Candles

Toadily Handmade – 100% Natural Beeswax Candles
In business since 2006

A few years ago I was looking for beeswax tea-lights to use for my Sabbath. I research and shop for numerous products on Amazon.com, as their prices are great and I also have lots of my credit card rewards linked there, so I have lots of credit on there to spend. I found a box of 36 beeswax candles on there. The price was right and shipping was free! I was very happy with the product. Each one lasts about 5 hours or more and is great for purifying the air since it gives off negative ions (more is written about the benefits below by the owner of the company).

When I used up the first box, I ordered another box. In the process of using this box, I have some problem where a few of the wicks burned out and I couldn’t use the candles. I did not throw them out because I didn’t want to waste them and planned to contact the company. I finally got around to emailing and received a call from the owner, Susan, the next day. We had a wonderful conversation and it turns out, she experienced the same problem and she makes the candles! She said it can happen and was very kind in sending me replacement candles and also replacement wicks, as she said I can take out the other ones that burned out and put the new ones in. I was so impressed with Susan’s consideration and customer service that I wanted to include her in my company reviews.

I will continue to use her candles for the quality she offers and the great service. You can read more about her products on the link to her website that is listed under the title Blogroll on the right-hand side of this page. Susan is offering a great discount of 10% off all products through August 5, 2012 to my readers for her products using the code BEESWAX.

This was written by the owner of Toadily Handmade, Susan Short. Thanks for sending this information for me to share with the public!

Here is how she got started in her business:

Growing up I was always doing something, sewing, crafts, baking, anything creative. I’ve tried my hand at making cards, gourmet candy, painting, and when my kids were younger I enjoyed coming up with new ideas for teacher gifts. Then one night about 7 years ago I was at a holiday boutique with a friend and she picked up a pair of hand rolled beeswax candles and said, “You can make these!” I had never seen anything like them before, so I went home and searched online for supplies and within a week I had put together several candle centerpieces which I gave to my friend to use for her Christmas party.

When I first started I had no idea how wonderful beeswax was, I thought I was just making candles. Over the years I have really come to appreciate the health benefits of burning beeswax candles. It feels great knowing that I’m not only able to make something pretty to be enjoyed, but something healthy and sustainable as well. I feel so lucky to be able to call this my job!

Here is the info she wrote about beeswax candles:

Candles can be a powerful tool for relaxation and meditation, but not
all candles are alike. Paraffin candles are a byproduct of petroleum
and although they may smell good, they are scented with chemicals.
They release toxins as they burn and are not a healthy choice.

Why Beeswax? Beeswax candles are 100% natural and are the
cleanest burning candles available. Not only do they burn without
producing soot, they actually clean the air as they burn!

Ions in the air can affect our mood, energy level and health. Negative
ions actually feel good! Unfortunately, the air we breathe is full of
positive ions like pollens, smoke, dust, mold, viruses and other
harmful allergens. As beeswax candles burn they produce negative
ions that attach to the unhealthy positive ions, causing them to fall to
the ground and thus providing cleaner air. People who suffer from
asthma or allergies can enjoy the peace and enjoyment that beeswax
candles provide, while also enjoying cleaner air. A very healthy
alternative!

Beeswax is a byproduct of honey production. It has been estimated
that bees must fly 150,000 miles (that’s about 6 times around the
earth!) and consume about 6 pounds of honey to produce 1 pound of
wax. For every 100 pounds of honey a beekeeper harvests, only 1-2
pounds of beeswax is produced. Honeybees are amazing, so it should
be no surprise that beeswax candles are so wonderful!

This helps to understand why beeswax candles may seem more
expensive than other candles. The truth is, beeswax actually burns
slower than other waxes, so dollar for dollar you will get a better
return when you choose beeswax. In addition to being healthy,
beeswax candles have a beautiful bright flame, rarely drip, and have a
subtle honey scent. No need to add any fragrance as nature has
already done that!

When people ask me what my favorite style candle is I almost always
choose the tea-light. It’s simple, comes in it’s own container, has a
burn time of about 4 hours and burns beautifully.

The most helpful tip I can offer anyone, especially those who may be
new to beeswax candles, is to always light the candle at the base of
the wick. This allows a small wax pool to develop and begin to fuel the
wick (remember, beeswax melts more slowly so it takes a few seconds
longer to light the wick properly). I also suggest using a utility lighter,
not matches.

Any questions? Please feel free to call or email, I’ll be happy to help!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Susan Short said,

    Mindy, I’m honored to be included with all of your awesome product reviews. Thank you for such nice words and for sharing my story with your readers!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

