Q and A Series: People, Products and the Health of Our Planet – Interview with Swayze Foster (Low Fat Raw Vegan)

For the fourth interview, I have the pleasure of introducing you to Swayze Foster. I never met her, but found out about her through another raw vegan foodie’s website. She has excellent FREE information to share with the public and great insight, as well. I hope we can meet someday and share some wonderful fruit-filled adventures!

To access Swayze Foster’s Website, please click on the link I have provided on the right-hand side of the page under the column titled Blogroll

Question #1: Tell me briefly about yourself and why you decided to get involved
in the “health” industry?

I became interested in health and fitness fairly young, at about 17 years old. In 2006, I purchased Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s book Eat to Live. This put me on the whole food, plant-based path, but I wanted more. My health wasn’t where I had expected it to be (e.g. anemia, fatigue, restless leg syndrome, “everyday” aches and pains, and a few extra pounds) and so I went raw in 2007.

After a brief yet unpleasant encounter with the high-fat, gourmet raw way (and the promise to myself that I was done with raw), I stumbled upon the low fat, high fruit raw way via Frederic Patenaude’s Raw Secrets. My health improved within days and I was hooked.

In early 2009, I was at a bit of a crossroads career-wise. I was enrolled in university, but I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do with my life. When I finally asked myself what I would do if I could do anything, the answer was simple: raw foods. I was spending so much of my time educating myself, visiting forums, and helping others—and enjoying every minute of it—why shouldn’t I make a career out of it?

So I worked hard for 3 months and on June 18, 2009, I launched my website http://www.fitonraw.com. And the rest is history.

Question #2: If you were stranded on a desert island and were allowed to take only 5 items with you (they can be food, books or specific products that are all health-related), what would they be and why?

Well, I would prefer a boat, fuel, and a GPS, so I could make it back home. But I guess those aren’t food, book, or health products. 😉

1) A survival handbook
2) A machete
3) A receptacle for holding water
4) A huge bag of wheat berries
5) A huge bag of dried fruit and nuts

I figure a water receptacle and machete are health-related, seeing as you can’t live without water and a tool for exploring and building a shelter would be pretty important too. 🙂

Question #3: What one message do you want to share with the people of this world that is crucial for their ultimate well-being and longevity?

Getting healthy is simple, but it isn’t easy. It will require work and there will be obstacles that you must overcome.

The good news? You’re worth it.

Questions #4: If someone could afford to purchase only one product at this moment to start their journey towards better health (food or health-related), what would you recommend and why?

Actually, what I recommend isn’t a product at all and won’t cost you a dime. In fact, it’ll actually save you money!

My recommendation is one 24-hour fast (water only). You’ll be amazed by how clean and clear-headed you’ll feel just by skipping a few meals. It’s also a great way to jumpstart transitioning to a healthier lifestyle.

Question #5: Tell me more about your business/company and/or products you offer to the public to help them achieve optimal health and well-being?

My website Fit On Raw: Raw Food for Practical Fitness (www.fitonraw.com) is dedicated to helping everyday (i.e. non-athlete) people go raw and get fit on a healthy and sustainable raw food diet.

I currently offer my low fat raw recipe e-book “Low Fat, Fruit Filled, High Fun Raw Recipes,” my cravings program “How to Conquer Your Cooked Food Cravings Once and for All,” and my members-only site “The Rawkin’ Raw Club”.

You will receive an automatic 25% discount on How to Conquer Your Cooked Food Cravings by clicking the link for Swayze Foster that is listed on the right-hand side of this page when you scroll down to the Blogroll section.

Question #6: What are your hopes/aspirations/dreams for the future health of the people and the planet?

I hope that more people will realize that they are the true masters of their life. No physician, nutritionist, or government bureaucrat can or should supply us with the education, motivation, support, or food that we need to be healthy and happy.

It is up to each one of us to educate ourselves (read all the books you can, watch movies, surf the web), to stay motivated (write down your reasons for getting healthy, post motivational images and sayings around your house), to seek out support (www.meetup.com), and to source quality food (www.localharvest.org & http://www.pickyourown.org).

Question #7: Who is your greatest hero and why?

Ayn Rand, for her dedication to truth, knowledge, and freedom.

Question #8: Is there anything else you would like to share with the public?

There is never a right time to go raw or improve your lifestyle. It doesn’t matter if it’s the middle of winter or the peak of summer, you will always find excuses to put your goals aside.

My advice is to get started as soon as possible. Anyone can do this simply my replacing one unhealthy food choice with a healthy one each day. For instance, replace breakfast with a fruit smoothie or replace your mid-afternoon snack with fresh salsa and celery sticks.

Question #9: I know that there are variables as to how much food/calories each person consumes when eating raw vegan food (based on many lifestyle factors, etc), but is there a basic guideline you would recommend for everyone?

Eat as much fruit as you care for, eat generous portions of vegetables (focus on greens), and limit your intake of nuts, seeds, avocados, and other fatty foods (e.g. 1-2 ounces of nuts, 1/2-3/4 of a Hass avocado). Eat the best quality produce you can find and include as much variety as you can throughout the year.

Swayze
http://www.fitonraw.com

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Thanks again for interviewing me, Mindy! I too hope we get a chance to meet one day and nosh on some tasty fruits. 🙂

    Swayze

    • 2

      rawsomegal said,

      Thanks, Swayze for taking the time to answer my questions and give some great (much needed) real information that the public is craving, so to speak. I have been getting a lot of views on my blog in the last 3 days, over 500! Also, thanks for getting the notice out about it to your email list.
      Namaste!
      Chef Mindy


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

