FYI: Practice Makes ________

FYI: FOR YOUR INFORMATION

My perspectives on various topics

that are health related



Topic: Practice Makes ________

Monday March 01, 2010

I have returned back to the fill in the blank topics and hope I can continue to come up with more of them. If you have any ideas for a good one, please send me a comment. The one we always hear is “practice makes perfect.” How about practice makes you happier/healthier/wiser/better. As, I mentioned in another post, I don’t believe we can ever be “perfect,” but we can still strive for it. If you continue to work at something and repeat it over and over, you are bound to have some type of success with it. From a personal example, perhaps you have read my 42 day journal of the cleanse I did (you can read it from the beginning if you click in the archive on December 2009). How I was able to succeed in doing one for such an extended amount of time, is because I started 7 years ago by first doing a 1 day fast and then progressed from there in small increments. My body got used to doing periodic fasts-cleansing that it was not very difficult for me to embark on the one I recently completed. If you are trying to eat more fruits and vegetables or embark on a fitness regimen, etc you need to work at making it happen. This takes time and effort on your part and eventually it will become (a) part of your life, like brushing you teeth daily. The word ‘practice,’ is defined in the dictionary as: performance or execution as opposed to theory; custom or habit. It is something you do and most of us try/would like to do it well. My feeling is that if you are trying something new or making any type of change, it is best to start slowly, so as not to become overwhelmed to the point where you will simply be ready to discard it for any number of reasons (such as lack of time, money, energy, space, willpower, etc). A baby doesn’t learn how to walk overnight, there are specific stages they go through and the baby continues to persevere to that end. Since a baby is freer in its thinking, it doesn’t merely give up at the first sign of failure (i.e. falls down and then picks itself up again and attempts to stay upright and balanced).

Leave a Reply

