FYI: Let Food Be Thy Medicine and Medicine Be Thy Food

FYI: FOR YOUR INFORMATION

My perspectives on various topics

that are health related

Topic: Let Food Be Thy Medicine and Medicine Be Thy Food (Hippocrates)

Thursday February 18, 2010

Here is another great quote from the Father of Medicine who also created the Hippocratic Oath (which in my honest opinion, has now become the “Hypocritical” Oath, as doctors do not follow his guidelines for treating people {that is what they are and not simply ‘patients’ as they are called} who are in need of medical care. Another thing that is “wrong” with the medicine in America, is that it has become sick care. There are countries in the East (I know that it used to work this way in the past and maybe it still occurs with some traditional doctors) where the doctor would not be paid if the person comes to them and is not well. Only when they are “symptom-free” did the doctor get to collect money. This makes sense to me! How about you? Please be sure to give me your feedback. For one thing, I do not ascribe to the western way of medicine a nd don’t have health insurance or see a doctor (I am not telling you to follow what I do, merely telling you the way I choose to live my life). I know that doctors can help with a diagnosis and also for emergency situations (like fixing broken bones) they can be a G-d send (as was for me when I broke my left elbow over 10 years ago). Getting back to the quote from Hippocrates, it makes perfect sense to me logically that he was a genius, even back then (he lived 400 years before J.C.)! His message is ageless and timeless! It is a shame that so many people have to go on all these diet programs like Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Slimfast , etc. If they would follow the principle that Hippocrates stated in the above quote, in layman’s terms it would be: food = medicine; medicine = food. I know that the best foods to consume are mostly fruits and vegetables, preferably in their raw form. Take this into consideration and find even one fruit or vegetable that you like and would be willing to have more of it everyday and keep building on that idea. If you are an adult, think about the fruits you loved as a kid. What child did not like watermelon? How about grapes? (of course when they are in season is the best time to buy them). Next, you can try a fruit you have never eaten. If you aren’t sure you’ll like it, when you go to the supermarket, farmers market, etc ask if you can get a piece of it to try. More than likely, you will be able to do so. Do some research on the internet for exotic fruits or tropical fruits and find out about the many options that are available to you.

Check out these links for more information on Hippocrates

and the last one is for the actual oath

http://www.sjsu.edu/depts/Museum/hippoc.html

http://gardenofpraise.com/ibdhipp.htm

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/doctors/oath_classical.html

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jill said,

    Thanks for this post, I would definitely be happy to eat more fruit as I love apples, bananas, pears, cherries, grapes, etc. Vegetable wise I am much more picky. 🙂

  2. 2

    rawsomegal said,

    Thank you, Jill
    Yes, I agree, it is much easier to eat fruits, as they are delicious and sweet. Don’t forget that tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and zucchini are actually fruits because they have seeds. As for vegetables, the leafy greens are the most important as they have the minerals our body needs to stay in balance. I recommend things like lettuces – romaine, green leaf, red leaf, boston, bib, iceburg and also baby spinach, cilantro and parsley. If you have a hard time eating greens by themselves they add some fruit to it, but make sure there is no fat like oil, nuts, seeds, avocado, dairy or meat (bad combination for the body, but fruit and greens is ok).

    Namaste!
    Chef Mindy aka Ageless Raw Beauty

  3. 3

    Linda B. said,

    Jill. I Totally agree with what you said…I’ve always said they are only good for broken bones..I’ve been a vegetarian for 20 years and have a “Raw” vegan for about 5 months now and am thoroughly enjoying it. I will kept this as a link .Thanks so much for you input..Linda B.

    • 4

      rawsomegal said,

      Hi Linda
      Thanks for your comments.
      Congrats on your lifestyle choices and keep it up!
      Please let others know about my blog and subscribe to it and you will
      receive an email to let you know when I have posted something new

      Namaste!
      Chef Mindy aka Ageless Raw Beauty

  4. 5

    caba said,

    Nowadays, the progress of medicine, diet, without a way to eliminate the weight problem will arise. The most important change in life style and eating. Lifestyles and changing eating habits, and safe way to lose weight without spending money possible.
    http://www.cabadak.com/kalori-tablosu/


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

