FYI: We Must Be The Change We Want To See

FYI: FOR YOUR INFORMATION

My perspectives on various topics

that are health related

Topic: We Must Be The Change We Want To See

(Mahatma Gandhi)

Wednesday February 17, 2010

I have decided to start using some famous quotes as topics for my blog. They can be very powerful and profound and really make us THINK! The quote from Gandhi, is one with such a strong message. When I first embarked on my vegan journey 20 years ago, I formally studied macrobiotics, I was so excited about this lifestyle that I wanted to share it with the world and change everyone. That was a short-lived thought, which I decided was not the optimal way to “spread the wealth.” At the time (1993), I had not, as yet, figured out the best way to let others know. Then I had an epiphany, when someone asks me a question about anything related to health or my thoughts on a certain food (whether I think it is good or what I know about it), that is the OPEN DOOR! This is the moment I realize that the person wants to learn more and perhaps make a change in their lifestyle choices. Relating to the quote above, is another way for others to follow in your footsteps. If you walk your talk and people see how you act, behave and how healthy you look, they will want to know what the “secrets” are to achieving this for themselves. Of course, nothing is truly hidden, but sometimes needs to be emphasized and brought up again or perhaps rephrased to make it simpler to understand. Eating healthy and looking the part, isn’t rocket science. Mother earth has provided us with a vast abundance of incredible foods growing in the trees and in the ground that are full of nutrients to keep us vital and energized. Start exploring the many choices available and then you will be looked at as an “example” others will want to emulate, too!

Leave a Reply

