The Transition to Food and My New Raw Vegan Food Plan/Regimen…Week 1



The Transition to Food and My New Raw Vegan Food Plan/Regimen

Week 1

Day 1 – Tuesday January 12, 2010

I did not sleep that well last night. I did fall asleep right away, but then awoke at 3:40 am to use the bathroom and went back to bed, but my mind was thinking and processing. I stayed in bed anyway and then did fall back to sleep for a while and finally got out of bed at 6:50 am, as I heard the blower going across the street at the school and it is annoying. I was feeling a bit weary at first because I didn’t get enough sleep. My tongue was really coated this morning and at first I didn’t have any evacuation. My neck was really tight when I first woke up this morning probably from the heavy things I was carrying yesterday. Then I started eating some bosc pears (I had them in the fridge for a while and some were starting to go bad). Wow! that first bite and it was sweet and juicy. I don’t know if they were the cause of me have a bit of the runny loose smelly bowel movements, but I had it had 7:25, 7:35, 8:10 and 8:25 am. I ate a total of 3 pears and then my head was feeling a bit off, too. As if it was saying, “hey, what are you giving me? I am not used to this stuff! You haven’t fed me in 42 days, so take it slowly! I know that for a fact and that is why I stopped after that many pears. It is another beautiful day outside and I didn’t end up going out with my friend today, so I can take care of my errands and get out in the sun and walk, too! The way I am starting off is to only eat mono meals of fruit (mostly). Whether I do it for 1 meal or for the whole day. I will do that for at least the first few days and then starting adding a meal with greens like lettuce with celery, cucumber and tomato and possibly some seaweed. I would like to continue to eat mono fruit meals regularly. I also plan to eat smaller quantities of food, 2 meals a day and stop my food consumption by 5 pm, at the latest. Then if I feel the need for anything afterwards, it would simply be something to drink like stevia water or coconut water and then nothing more after 7 pm. My goal is to keeping going back on the time I stop eating till I reach 2 pm. I had a busy morning making phone calls and also got out in the sun. I wanted to get out to do my recycling and by the time I was ready to go at 1 pm, my neighbor drove me over there. Afterwards, I went to weigh myself (was supposed to do yesterday, but never had the time to) at a fitness club that was in the same shopping center. It was after 1:30 pm and it said I was 107 lbs. and that is with clothes on in the middle of the day. I would say I am probably closer to 105. Now I plan to maintain as close to that as possible. I went home afterwards to bring a plant to exchange at the store I bought it from, as they were having a plant sale and I wanted one that was healthier and vibrant and also bought another free standing plant. I came home and finally went for my walk at 3 pm. It was much later in the day then I planned so the sand wasn’t hot, but the sun was out. I had plans for my new friend to take me out to do some shopping not too far away and had to push it back some. Then when I returned, I left my keys in my place and my neighbor helped me get in through my window. What a day it has been! I was feeling fine on just eating my pears. Instead of having them as a meal, I ate them sporadically throughout the day and it worked better for me. I went out shopping with my friend and we hit it off superbly. I came home and was able to get on the internet at home again. I was planning to take a bath, but never did, as I was zoned into my access online. It has definitely made my life easier because I didn’t have to go to the library and stayed up late tonight because of that. I didn’t get to sleep till the ungodly hour of 2 am. Not my usual pattern and it is fine sometimes and no judgment needs to be there.

Day 2 – Wednesday January 13, 2010

I woke up when I heard the phone at 6:45 am and stayed in bed till 7 am when I had to use the bathroom. I am starting to have more bowel movements and they are still somewhat loose and getting more solid. I went back to bed and then got up again to use the bathroom at 8:30 am and stayed awake, even though I was still a bit tired. Today it is an overcast day (haven’t had one of those in a while) outside and supposed to rain, too. I didn’t eat anything today till 11 am, as I wasn’t hungry at all. I ate 6 kiwis and then needed something else because it was a bit too acidic for me, so I had a fuyu and a hachiya persimmon. I was going to do mono meals, but I am ok with this, too. I did get to go out for a walk today once the weather cleared up. I ate some more persimmons throughout the day. I was doing a presentation this evening on raw foods and I went there with my neighbor. It was a very successful event and I was feeling really great. I continue to have bowel movements throughout the day that are partly solid and loose. My food choices in these first 2 days have really worked well for me and I plan to continue as I go forward. The only thing that is keeping me up, as in awake, is that I have been able to get on the internet at home and staying up late using it. I went to sleep at 1 am (will work on getting to bed earlier, best by 10 pm at the latest!)

Day 3 – Thursday January 14, 2009

I slept well last night with no disturbances or trips to the bathroom. I got up at 8 am and felt good. My throat was a bit dry, but went away once I had something to eat. I went to the bathroom right away and had a very large evacuation that was all loose. I didn’t eat anything till about an hour after I got up. I decided not to have as many kiwis as yesterday because it is too acidic. I decided to have only one and then had a 6 oz container of blackberries and 1 fuyu persimmon. I still may do mono meals, but for today I did not. I plan to start having a salad later in the day for dinner. I do plan to keep to the goal of not eating after 5 pm, but it can be challenging (I have the will power to do so, as I have accomplished so much including the 42 days of not eating!). It is a beautiful sunny day outside and I plan to enjoy it! I got outside to do my sunning and then went to see a friend and go for my walk. I had some more loose eliminations at 3, 5 and 9 pm. My body is trying to get used to the food I am eating, but I guess it wants to get rid of more because it hasn’t had regular daily evacuations. I plan to get to sleep earlier then the past couple of nights, but still have work to do that will keep me up till at least 10 pm or so. I ate a yummy salad tonight which included cilantro, cucumber, tomato, celery and mango. I did have an apple and persimmon in the afternoon. I had an extensive amount of work to do this evening and didn’t get to sleep till 1:25 am (yikes!). I will be changing that habit immediately, as next week I have to be up early to start work with a regular client for the next few weeks.

Day 4 – Friday January 15, 2010

I slept well last night, though not enough. I woke up once at 4am to go to the bathroom and had a significant loose evacuation. Then I got up at 7:50 am and another loose elimination. I really wanted to go back to sleep, but knew I had a lot to do today and it is a shorter day because the Sabbath starts at sundown. I decided not to eat anything today till noon, for a change. As I have been eating when I first get up for the past few days. It was a mostly overcast day, bummer! I didn’t get to do sunning today, but I did go for a walk and it wasn’t cold. I am having a really intense bloated feeling today. I have been burping a lot and trying to release the gas from my colon by rubbing it, and it has helped. I have had many loose eliminations throughout the day. I am happy that I decided to eat later in the day because I didn’t feel hungry. I plan to get to sleep early tonight because I know I am tired from the last few late nights. I was glad when the Sabbath started so I could relax and read. It took me a while to eat my meal, which was a big salad of parsley, tomato, celery, cucumber, avocado [first overt fatty food in a month and a half] and red bell pepper (as I was reading and chewing my food well). I fell asleep at 11 pm, but hadn’t really planned it that way. I did not do my nightly regimen before going to bed. I woke up at 1 am and then washed up and went to sleep.

Day 5 – Saturday January 16, 2010

I slept through the night after I woke up about 1 am. I slept till a few minutes shy of 10 am (I guess I was really tired!). I felt good this morning and the sun was already shining. I didn’t eat anything right away. I got my day started with my regular routine and then ate a kiwi, 6 oz container of blackberries and a small mango at 11:30 am. I got out to do some sunning for a while in the early afternoon. Then it started to cloud over and didn’t feel as warm. I didn’t go for a walk today as it started getting windy and the sun didn’t come back out. For some reason I have been craving lots and lots of tomatoes. I had quite a bit yesterday of cherry and sugar plum varieties. To me, it is like popping candy in my mouth. I know if I am craving it, then my body must need it. I also have been eating a substantial amount of sea vegetables, especially wild nori/laver and dulse. Again, my body must be needing the minerals that it is providing me with. I am still have lots of loose bowel movements throughout the day (usually when I wake up and at least 5 or more times in the day). I had another salad this evening with the same ingredients as last night, except with a different green (red leaf lettuce). I had a lot of work to get done after the Sabbath and stayed up much later then I planned, but the work is done! I went to sleep at 4 am (nutty, huh!), but I finished my work.

Day 6 – Sunday January 17, 2010

I did not get enough sleep this morning because I went to bed at 4 am and set my alarm to wake me up at 9am. I woke up a few minutes before that. I had plans to get together with a friend and he was going to pick me up at 11am. It was a nice sunny day outside and I wanted to get out to do some sunning and also go for a walk before he picks me up. I did get out while the weather was still nice, as it started to cloud over some while I was out on my walk. My friend ended up arriving later then we first planned, so I didn’t have to cut my time short. The week coming will probably not allow me to walk on the sand, as rain is expected every day. I went to the farmer’s market with my friend and spent a few hours together. I came home and then went out again to do a few more errands before the rain comes. I am not going to be working tomorrow, as I thought, so I can sleep in tomorrow (yey!). I continue to have numerous loose bowel movements throughout the day and for the most part, it comes out so clean that I barely am using any toilet paper. I am really keeping the late night hours lately, but again I have been accomplishing a lot by doing so and this is the case again tonight. I have still been eating lots of tomatoes and seaweed today. I had some persimmons, apples, mango and a couple of pears. For dinner I had another big salad with romaine lettuce and same veggies as yesterday. I finally got to sleep at 3:45 am (15 minutes earlier than yesterday – yipee!) and was totally exhausted!

Day 7 – January 18, 2010

I slept well and woke up once to use the bathroom at about 6 am. I was woken up by hearing my answering machine message come on, but no one left a message. It was only about 9 am. I did get up to use the bathroom an the went back to sleep till 10:20 am. I was a cloudy and windy day with rain expected today. It was dry for the morning and then the rains came at mid afternoon. As it turns out, I will not be working this week, as I had thought. With the rains and all, it is probably best. I will be able to get more home projects done. Today was another day of numerous loose bowel movements and eating lots of tomatoes, too. I didn’t eat anything till close to noon. I had a kiwi and blackberries. Later on I had a persimmon, apple, kombu/kelp seaweed and a sheet of raw nori. I had another big salad for dinner with cilantro and same veggies as in previous days. I will be going to bed much earlier then I have been for the last few nights, as I would like to break my habit of going to sleep so late. I went to sleep tonight at 1:35 am, which is a big improvement on previous nights and hope to go to bed even earlier tomorrow night.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] The Transition to Food and My New Raw Vegan Food Plan/Regimen…Week 1 January 2010 […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

